Galaxies Away

When I look upon the stars

I wish that I could escape to there

Because they are all so far away

From the pain that holds me here.

I don’t want to feel this hurt

Anymore when those words are said

That should bring me happiness

And not the familiar fear instead.

Why can’t I hold onto the hope

That love can breathe in my world

I want to do more than just see it on

The faces of those around me

I want to walk in its sunshine

Upon it’s fresh cut grass

Have the aroma of it bring a smile

To my sad tear-stained face.

Is my life forever a galaxy away

From the atmosphere of love?

Am I just feeding the power

Of those who placed this in my heart

Am I giving them residence

In the soul they tore apart?

Stand up and walk away

That is all you have to do

Leave the past where it is at

Or history will walk on you

Why can’t I hold onto the hope

That love can breathe in my world

I want to do more than just see it on

The faces of those around me

I want to walk in its sunshine

Upon it’s fresh cut grass

Have the aroma of it bring a smile

To my sad tear-stained face.

Is my life forever a galaxy away

From the atmosphere of love?

2 comments on “Galaxies Away

  1. grazinute says:

    You have a beautiful way of using symbols and images in your poetry and songs. I like that you are bold enough to claim your pain. I think as Christians we too often shy away from it and think that just because we are believers, we should somehow be always “happy and smiling.” making place to claim the pain, the suffering and the grief as meaningful experiences of our lives is an important part of our faith. We need to embrace it just like Christ embraced his suffering and death so that he could be raised from the death on the third day. I suggest you turn to Psalms and Lamentations for reflection and meditation – they have a wealth of imagery that would beutifully blend into your writing.

  2. murph says:

    There are tears in my eyes….

Leave a Reply

