Saying “I Love You”

 

I began to feel it

It was a fleeting moment

Traveling back now

Taking the fastest route I know

To the residence

I feel most at home in

The gavel has hit the wood

I’m letting go

 

Settled as a cliché

My dreams still believe in

The hopes that I held

My plethora of mistakes

 

The second chance is gone

My chin will come back up

This dark, cold room

Warmth seems to elude

Say it as you will

I’ll eventually surrender

And join in

For now, it holds no meaning

Not when directed at me.

 

Fear starting to subside

You began to wrap my wounds

The once closed door

I propped open carelessly to you

Your approach new

You wore a much different mask

Extended thoughts, then my heart

I did not know

 

Settled as a cliché

My dreams still believe in

The hopes that I held

My plethora of mistakes

 

The second chance is gone

My chin will come back up

This dark, cold room

Warmth seems to elude

Say it as you will

I’ll eventually surrender

And join in

For now, it holds no meaning

Not when directed at me.

 

What do you see

When you hear it

What does it do

For your soul?

What will you take

To avoid it

My dark path you

Do not know

 

Settled as a cliché

My dreams still believe in

The hopes that I held

My plethora of mistakes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Saying “I Love You”

  1. Murph says:

    Wow…I like….

  2. Murph says:

    Hey…..you know what comes next…

Leave a Reply

