My Understanding Stinks

Lately the amount of opportunities for me to “fix things” has multiplied. I have started a new job, have new people in my area of influence, and have new challenges taking place in our family. Here is what I learned this morning during my time with the Lord:

My understanding stinks!

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding “

Proverbs 3:5
  • First of all, leaning on your own understanding is prideful- as if you know best in every situation
  • Second, why would I lean on my own understanding? It is so limited!
  • Finally, even if I had the information needed to make a decision, sometimes it’s just not our place to fix things- again, pride masquerading as helpful is still pride.

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.”

Isaiah 55:8-9

For all my “fixers” and “people pleasers” out there- relax, let go of the reins, and resist the urge to try and fix everything or please everyone.

Sometimes it is your job to do; other times you’re wearing yourself out by picking up things that don’t belong to you!

Before you try to do something (in all your limited wisdom, but good intentions), ask God what your role is. It may just be that He wants you to listen and speak what He reveals to you in secret; or, He may ask you to pray someone through a fiery trial; or even still, He may be teaching you something through the very thing you feel “led” to teach someone else through- check your eyes for logs!

Here’s the promise:

In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

Proverbs 3:6

#christianity, #from-my-studies, #purposeful-living